Independent information and referral site. Not a utility, contractor or government agency. Figures link to their sources. How we make money
California solar decisions
Do Solar Panels Work During a Power Outage? Check the Backup Design
Most grid-tied solar systems shut down when utility power is off. A system must be specifically designed to disconnect safely from the grid and support selected loads before it can provide backup power.
This page is one part of our roof suitability guide for solar.
California Rate Relief is a private solar referral service.
Solar on the roof does not automatically mean power in the house
The U.S. Department of Energy explains that grid-connected solar generally depends on the grid and is designed to switch off when grid power is lost. The CPUC likewise says most solar systems automatically power down during a shutoff so they do not energize utility lines being handled by repair crews and first responders.
Why the grid-tied shutoff happens, by name
A grid-tied solar panel is a passive DC source — it doesn't "need" electricity to generate, but the inverter that turns that DC into usable AC power needs the grid's own AC signal to synchronize to before it will push power into your house. When the grid goes down, code requires the inverter to stop. This is called anti-islanding, and it's not optional: PG&E's own interconnection requirements state that the utility requires UL1741 SB–certified inverters for new interconnections (effective August 29, 2023) and has incorporated IEEE 1547.1-2020 test procedures into its testing regime for that certification (PG&E, accessed 2026-09-22). The rule exists so a solar-fed circuit can't stay energized and shock a lineworker who thinks the line is dead — it's a safety requirement, not a limitation your installer forgot to design around.
A backup system has to create a safe electrical island
A backup-capable design disconnects the home from the utility grid and establishes a controlled source for the selected circuits. That usually involves compatible controls, an inverter that supports the intended backup mode and stored energy. The equipment list alone is not enough. Ask for a one-line diagram and written description of what happens when grid power fails, at night and when the battery reaches its reserve.
Two ways to actually keep the power on
There are two hardware paths that let a grid-tied system provide power once the grid is down, and they solve different problems.
Battery with a backup gateway. This is the path the rest of this page already covers — a battery and transfer equipment create a controlled island for selected circuits, independent of the grid. It can run through the night and keeps working after dark, which the second option cannot.
An inverter with a secure power outlet. Some grid-tied string inverters include a dedicated outlet that works without a battery. SMA's Sunny Boy line, which uses what SMA calls a Secure Power Supply, is the example most California installers cite: when the grid fails, you flip a switch on the inverter and it feeds one dedicated outlet — up to 2,000 watts (20 amps) — directly from whatever the panels are producing at that moment (SMA America, accessed 2026-09-22). No battery required, typically a $350–$400 install add-on, no 240-volt loads, and it only works while the panels are producing — nothing at night or on a heavily overcast day. A narrow fix (a fridge, a phone, a medical device by day), not whole-home backup.
Choose the loads before choosing battery capacity
Write down the equipment that must stay on: refrigeration, lights, communications, medical devices, well pumps, garage access or heating and cooling. For each load, identify running power, startup demand and daily use. A whole-home label does not show whether every large appliance can operate at once or how long the stored energy lasts.
How long a battery keeps your chosen circuits running depends on the battery's usable capacity, how many circuits you put on it, and how much those circuits draw — there's no single "hours of backup" number that applies to every home, and we won't invent one here. For a sizing method built from your own panel and usage instead of a sales estimate, see how many batteries do I need in California?
Backup proposal checklist
| Get in writing | What it should answer |
|---|---|
| Backed-up circuits | Which exact circuits remain energized, and which loads are excluded? |
| Usable energy | How much stored energy is available after reserve settings and operating limits? |
| Power output | What continuous and startup loads can the system support at the same time? |
| Outage charging | Can solar restart or charge the battery while islanded, and under what conditions? |
| Operating modes | What happens at night, in low sunlight and when the battery reaches reserve? |
| Commissioning | Who tests the outage transition and teaches the owner how to operate it? |
Test the ugly scenarios before signing
Ask the bidder to model a nighttime outage, low-sun days, smoke or shade, simultaneous motor starts and an outage that lasts longer than one day. Compare those results with the household's actual critical loads. No battery lasts a guaranteed number of hours without specifying the load, starting state of charge and energy available during the outage.
PSPS planning is larger than the solar system
California utilities can use a Public Safety Power Shutoff when weather and fire conditions create risk. A PSPS is a deliberate, utility-initiated shutoff during high fire-risk weather — different from an equipment outage, and one solar alone (without a battery or secure-power-outlet inverter) does nothing to prevent. What each major California utility says about it on its own PSPS page, checked September 22, 2026:
| Utility | Why they call one | Advance notice | What they say about duration |
|---|---|---|---|
| PG&E | High wind, dry vegetation, and a National Weather Service Red Flag Warning combined (PG&E, accessed 2026-09-22) | "We will always do our best to alert you... in some cases we may not send the first alert until the same day" | Not stated on the utility's PSPS page |
| SCE | Fire-weather conditions — strong winds, dry vegetation, low humidity — evaluated on a 4–7 day lookout, refined through 1–4 hours before shutoff (SCE, accessed 2026-09-22) | Staged notifications from 4–7 days out down to 1–4 hours before | Not stated on the utility's PSPS page |
| SDG&E | Wind speed, vegetation moisture, temperature, humidity, and field/fire-agency observations (SDG&E, accessed 2026-09-22) | Staged at roughly 48, 24, 12, and 1–4 hours before | "Power will remain shut off as long as the threat to public safety continues"; restoration needs 4–8 daylight hours of line patrol per circuit and "can take days" |
None of the three utility PSPS pages recommends a specific backup technology; SDG&E's page notes Community Resource Centers for charging small devices and mentions keeping a generator on hand as an option. Keep utility contact information and alerts current, build a household outage plan and identify a second way to support essential medical or accessibility equipment. The CPUC says customers using electricity-dependent medical devices should plan for an extended outage.
SGIP's Equity Resiliency incentive, for PSPS-affected households
Separate from the general storage incentive on our battery hub, SGIP has an Equity Resiliency budget built for PSPS-affected households. CPUC's SGIP page lists the rate at $1,000 per kWh of installed storage (CPUC, accessed 2026-09-22); the program administrator's budget page says the incentive "could cover as much as 100% of the cost" (SGIP Program Administrator, accessed 2026-09-22). Eligibility needs one condition from each of two groups:
Location or outage history: in a Tier 2 or 3 High Fire-Threat District, or has experienced multiple PSPS events (sources differ slightly on the exact threshold — SGIP's own budget page says two or more PSPS events, or one PSPS plus one wildfire-caused outage since January 1, 2017; PG&E's SGIP page says more than two PSPS events, or five or more Enhanced Powerline Safety Setting outages since 2023).
Household vulnerability: enrolled in a utility medical baseline program, meets low-income criteria, relies on an electric well pump for water, or already qualifies for CARE, ESA, SASH, or DAC-SASH.
Budget availability changes by utility territory and by month, and the CPUC's own page currently shows this budget listed as "available through 2025" — worth confirming directly before anyone counts on it. For the current, per-utility reservation status, see: SGIP battery rebate status in California
Require a real commissioning test
Before final payment, ask the installer to demonstrate the grid-loss transition, identify the backed-up circuits, show the reserve and load controls, and leave written shutdown and restart instructions. Keep the installer, equipment and utility support contacts with the electrical diagram. For the storage decision itself, use the battery and backup guide.
Generator vs. battery, in practice
Both keep the lights on; they aren't the same purchase. A battery is silent, switches over automatically through the gateway described above, and (paired with solar) recharges without fuel. A portable or standby generator runs on gasoline, propane, or natural gas, has to be started and fueled, and produces exhaust — it must run outside, away from doors and windows. SCE offers separate, much smaller rebates for the two smaller devices: $150 for a qualifying portable power station (limit five per address) and $200, or $600 for income-qualified or medical baseline customers, for a qualifying portable generator, for customers in a Tier 2 or 3 High Fire-Threat District (SCE, accessed 2026-09-22). SCE also runs a Critical Care Backup Battery (CCBB) program: free portable backup batteries, with delivery, setup and training provided at no cost, for customers who live in a high fire-risk area, are enrolled in SCE's Medical Baseline Allowance program, and require electrically powered medical equipment (SCE, Critical Care Backup Battery Program, accessed 2026-09-22). No runtime-in-hours figure is stated for either option — it depends on the unit and the load, same as a home battery.
Choosing the equipment that carries the outage
Backup is a hardware and sizing decision before it is a price decision.
Want to discuss your solar options?
Start with the utility on your bill and what you pay in a typical month. Contact details come after that. California Rate Relief collects the information for a solar referral; the provider confirms availability, design and price.
California Rate Relief is a referral service. We are not a licensed contractor. California Rate Relief is compensated by a solar provider when a homeowner we refer signs an agreement. How we make money
Before you send anything
- What this is
- California Rate Relief is a private referral service. It is not a contractor, does not install or finance anything, and is not a utility, a government agency or an assistance program.
- What happens after the form
- Your project details are recorded for referral to a solar provider. The provider decides whether it can help and what it can offer; availability, design and price are determined after its own review.
- How you are contacted
- Read the consent wording before submitting. Your inquiry includes contact details for follow-up about the project; a provider decides whether it can serve it.
- Using the site without submitting
- The calculators, bill comparisons and checklists on this site work without contact details, and nothing on this page requires a submission.