Skip to main content

    Independent information and referral site. Not a utility, contractor or government agency. How we make money

    California solar decisions

    What is NEM 3.0 in California? Start with the bill

    NEM 3.0 is the common name for the Net Billing Tariff used by PG&E, SCE and SDG&E for newer solar interconnections. Electricity used at home and electricity exported to the grid have different financial effects.

    If you are not sure which plan your account is on, start with how NEM 2.0 and NEM 3.0 compare.

    California Rate Relief is a private solar referral service.

    Start with your bill

    Two answers, no contact details. They carry into the full form, and nothing is sent until you finish it.

    Or tap a typical amount

    California Rate Relief is a referral service. We are not a licensed contractor. California Rate Relief is compensated by a solar provider when a homeowner we refer signs an agreement. How we make money

    What the Net Billing Tariff actually is

    The Net Billing Tariff (NBT) — what most people call NEM 3.0 — is the billing structure the California Public Utilities Commission adopted in Decision D.22-12-056 on December 15, 2022, as the successor to Net Energy Metering 2.0. As with NEM, your solar output first offsets the electricity you use in the home; only what’s left over gets exported to the grid. The difference from NEM 2.0 is in how that exported electricity is valued: instead of a credit close to your retail rate, it’s compensated at a rate meant to reflect what that power is actually worth to the grid at that hour.

    Who’s on NEM 3.0, and who’s grandfathered

    Your tariff depends on when you applied for interconnection, not when your system was installed or turned on. If you (or the home’s previous owner) submitted an interconnection application to PG&E, SCE or SDG&E on or after April 15, 2023, you’re on the Net Billing Tariff. Applications submitted before that date stayed on NEM 1.0 or NEM 2.0.

    Legacy customers aren’t grandfathered forever. The CPUC states that NEM 2.0 customer-generators may remain on that tariff for 20 years from their interconnection date, under authority the commission traces to an earlier decision, D.14-03-041. PG&E states the same 20-year window for its original NEM 1.0 customers, counted the same way — from the date of interconnection, not the purchase date of the home or system. LADWP and SMUD aren’t part of this — they’re municipal utilities outside CPUC jurisdiction and set their own net metering rules. See the NEM 2.0 vs. NEM 3.0 comparison for how the two tariffs differ.

    How export compensation works

    There’s no single published cents-per-kWh number for NEM 3.0 exports, and this page won’t invent one. Instead, PG&E, SCE and SDG&E each calculate an hourly export credit using the CPUC’s Avoided Cost Calculator (ACC) — a model that estimates what a kilowatt-hour delivered to the grid at a given hour is worth over a 30-year horizon, built separately for each utility’s climate zones. The CPUC notes these credits are “usually lower than the retail rate” but “can rise above the retail rate on late summer evenings,” when grid demand peaks. In practice this means:

    • PG&E issues an Energy Export Credit that “will vary by time of day, day of the week and season,” recalculated using the CPUC-approved ACC values, with published hourly/daily/monthly credit tables available for download for 2023–2026.
    • SCE calculates its Energy Export Credit hourly, using the ACC “approved as of January 1 of the calculation year,” split into delivery (transmission, distribution, GHG adder) and generation components. Customers who enroll before January 1, 2028 get those prices locked for their first nine years on the plan.
    • SDG&E builds its export credit from 8,760 hourly ACC values per climate zone, averaged across zones and split into a generation component (bundled customers only) and a delivery component (all customers), calculated separately for weekday and weekend/holiday hours each month.

    For the current dollar figures — which change by plan vintage and update periodically — see your utility’s own export-pricing page rather than a fixed number here; the structure above is what won’t change month to month.

    Your TOU rate (the import side)

    All three investor-owned utilities require Net Billing Tariff customers to take electricity service on a time-of-use (TOU) rate, with the CPUC describing this as “high differential” pricing — lower off-peak prices, higher on-peak prices — so your bill reflects when you’re actually pulling from the grid, not just how much.

    Time-of-use requirements by utility under the Net Billing Tariff
    UtilityWhat’s required
    PG&EResidential Solar Billing Plan customers are automatically enrolled on Electric Home (E-ELEC), a TOU rate with peak pricing 4–9 p.m. daily, partial-peak 3–4 p.m. and 9 p.m.–midnight, and off-peak the rest of the day.
    SCEResidential customers are transitioned to the TOU-D-Prime rate and are charged the full retail rate for everything they import — there’s no separate “solar rate” for usage.
    SDG&ESDG&E confirms Net Billing Tariff accounts take TOU service, consistent with the CPUC’s general rule; a single named residential TOU plan could not be confirmed from SDG&E’s own pages with enough confidence to publish here, so verify the specific plan with SDG&E for your address.

    For current TOU rate periods and pricing by utility, see PG&E’s 2026 time-of-use rates, SCE’s 2026 time-of-use rates, and SDG&E’s 2026 time-of-use rates.

    Which California utilities does this cover?

    The CPUC’s overview applies to PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. It identifies April 15, 2023 as the start of net billing for new interconnection applications. Existing systems can have different enrollment rights; ask the utility before changing a system. LADWP and SMUD publish separate rules.

    Three flows to see in the proposal

    • Solar used at home: reduces electricity you otherwise buy at that time.
    • Solar exported: receives the applicable export credit, usually below retail under net billing; value varies by time.
    • Grid electricity imported: still appears on the bill alongside applicable charges.

    An annual production total hides these flows. Ask for an hourly or interval-based comparison using your actual tariff and generation provider.

    What changes when a battery is included?

    Storage can move energy to a later hour, but the proposal must account for usable capacity, losses, reserve settings and installed price. Compare the remaining bill with and without storage. Ask separately about outage operation and backed-up circuits.

    The annual true-up, briefly

    Like NEM 2.0, the Net Billing Tariff settles annually. PG&E states any remaining credit balance is reset to zero at the start of your new 12-month cycle; SDG&E settles net exporters against import charges and pays any true annual surplus at Net Surplus Compensation rates, which are separate from and lower than the monthly export credit. What changed under NEM 3.0 is the size of that annual number, because the export side of the math now runs on ACC values instead of retail-rate credits. For how to read your own true-up statement and what the line items mean, see how the annual true-up is settled.

    Why batteries matter under NEM 3.0

    Because exported power is now worth less than the power you’d otherwise buy back in the evening, storing your solar and using it yourself during peak TOU hours — instead of exporting it for a lower credit — is the main lever NEM 3.0 gives homeowners to control their bill. Whether that pencils out, and by how much, depends on your utility’s export credit, your TOU rate spread, and your evening usage. For the utility-by-utility payback math, see battery payback under NEM 3.0.

    If you sell your home or add panels

    Selling the home: PG&E states its 20-year NEM legacy rules “are tied to the system, not the owner” — if the prior owner had used 15 of their 20 years, the new owner inherits the remaining five on the same tariff. SCE similarly states that “account changes, such as moving in or out of a residence with an NEM system or transferring the account to someone else’s name, do not affect the NEM eligibility period of the original system.” SDG&E’s Solar Billing Plan pages reviewed did not address this directly — confirm with SDG&E if you’re buying or selling a home with a legacy system there.

    Adding panels: expanding a grandfathered NEM 1.0/2.0 system can move the whole account onto the Net Billing Tariff. PG&E moves accounts to the Solar Billing Plan at the next true-up date if the expansion is either more than 10% of the original system’s nameplate capacity or more than 1 kW — whichever threshold is reached first. SCE allows growth up to “the greater of 1 kW or 10 percent of the original system size” while staying on the legacy tariff, filed under a specific “NEM 1.0/2.0 Expansion” interconnection option — exceed that, or skip that filing, and the account moves to the Solar Billing Plan. Again, SDG&E’s own pages did not state an equivalent threshold in the pages checked.

    NEM 3.0 timeline: the dates that shaped it, and the ones left

    NEM and net billing dates
    WhenWhat happened or happens
    1996The CPUC creates the first net metering tariff, NEM 1.0.
    2014Decision 14-03-041 lets customers stay on their NEM tariff for 20 years from interconnection.
    2016The CPUC creates NEM 2.0 under AB 327; NEM 1.0 closes at its 2016-2017 sunset dates.
    December 15, 2022The CPUC adopts Decision 22-12-056, the Net Billing Tariff, with no charges specific to solar customers and no change for existing ones.
    April 15, 2023New PG&E, SCE and SDG&E interconnection applications take service on net billing.
    2025The California Supreme Court sends the court challenge back to be reviewed under a stricter standard.
    March 2026PG&E’s Base Services Charge replaces the Minimum Electric Charge on solar bills.
    March 9, 2026The Court of Appeal applies that standard and affirms the CPUC’s decision.
    April 14, 2026SCE’s deadline for already-valid NEM 2.0 applications to submit final documents.
    End of 2027Last chance for residential PG&E and SCE applicants to get the export adder, which lasts nine years. SCE locks export prices for nine years for enrollment before January 1, 2028.
    2032 onwardThe first net billing customers reach the end of their nine-year legacy period.
    Mid-2030sThe first NEM 2.0 accounts reach 20 years and move to the current tariff.

    The date that decides your tariff is the interconnection application, not the installation or permission-to-operate date. The court record is in the NEM 3.0 lawsuit, explained, and the NEM 2.0 end dates in when NEM 2.0 expires. Sources: the CPUC net billing page, the CPUC’s December 15, 2022 announcement, the Court of Appeal opinion, PG&E and SCE, checked September 24, 2026.

    Put the quotes on the same basis

    A smaller monthly payment can hide a longer contract, less equipment or a larger remaining electric bill. Ask each bidder to fill the same gaps.

    Equivalent solar quote checklist
    CompareGet it in writing
    System and outputSame DC system size, module/inverter models and roof layout; monthly production with shading and losses shown.
    Battery and backupUsable kWh, continuous output, backed-up circuits, reserve setting and expected replacement costs.
    Price and scopeSeparate solar, battery, roof, panel upgrade, permits and interconnection. Compare cash prices before financing.
    Utility billSame usage history and tariff; separate onsite use, grid imports, export credits and remaining fixed/delivery charges.
    Contract and serviceWho installs and who services it; written coverage by address, insurance, license record, exclusions and warranty claim process.
    Payment and transferCash, loan, lease or PPA; upfront costs, APR or escalator, total payments, home-sale and end-of-term terms.

    Follow the question you are trying to answer

    What the tariff does to storage and to the annual bill

    Frequently asked questions

    What is NEM 3.0?

    It is the common name for California’s Net Billing Tariff, adopted by the CPUC in Decision D.22-12-056 and in effect for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E customers who applied for solar interconnection on or after April 15, 2023.

    Is there still a NEM 3.0 deadline?

    The NEM 2.0 cutoff passed in April 2023: applications from April 15, 2023 take net billing. The date that still matters is the end of 2027. The CPUC says residential PG&E and SCE customers who apply to interconnect before then get slightly higher export credits for nine years; SDG&E customers are excluded.

    When did NEM 3.0 start?

    The CPUC adopted the decision on December 15, 2022; it took effect for new interconnection applications on April 15, 2023. It has been in effect for new solar since then; there is no pending vote to “pass” it.

    What was the California NEM 3.0 proposal, and what passed?

    NEM 3.0 came out of the CPUC’s NEM Revisit rulemaking (R.20-08-020) and was adopted as Decision D.22-12-056. What took effect: export credits based on the Avoided Cost Calculator instead of the retail rate, a required electrification time-of-use plan, a nine-year tariff guarantee for the original customer, monthly bill payment, and a small export adder for residential PG&E and SCE customers who apply before the end of 2027. It is no longer a proposal.

    How does billing work under NEM 3.0 (the Solar Billing Plan)?

    You pay a bill every month instead of once a year. Each month nets the power you bought against export credits; if credits exceed charges, the extra credit rolls forward to later months until your annual true-up. The CPUC made billing monthly so customers are not surprised by a large annual bill.

    How is NEM 3.0 different from NEM 2.0?

    The core difference is export compensation: NEM 2.0 credited exports near the retail rate, while NEM 3.0 credits them using the CPUC’s Avoided Cost Calculator, which is usually lower and varies by hour.

    Does NEM 3.0 apply to LADWP or SMUD customers?

    No. LADWP and SMUD are municipal utilities, not regulated by the CPUC, and each publishes its own net metering rules separately from the Net Billing Tariff.

    How much do PG&E, SCE or SDG&E pay for exported solar under NEM 3.0?

    There is no single fixed rate. Each utility calculates an hourly export credit from the CPUC’s Avoided Cost Calculator, so the value changes by hour, month and enrollment year. Check your utility’s export-pricing page for the current numbers for your plan vintage.

    What rate plan do I have to be on with NEM 3.0?

    The CPUC requires a specific electrification time-of-use rate: E-ELEC at PG&E, TOU-D-PRIME at SCE and EV-TOU-5 at SDG&E.

    Do I keep my NEM 2.0 grandfathering if I sell my house or add panels?

    At PG&E and SCE, the legacy period is tied to the system and its original interconnection date, not the owner, so a new owner inherits the remaining years. Adding panels beyond a small threshold (1 kW at PG&E; the greater of 1 kW or 10% of system size at SCE) moves the account to the Net Billing Tariff. SDG&E did not state an equivalent rule on the pages checked.

    Does a battery help under NEM 3.0?

    It can, because it lets you use your own solar at night instead of exporting it for a lower credit, but whether it pays back depends on your utility and usage.

    Have your bill reviewed

    Start with the utility on your bill and what you pay in a typical month. Contact details come after that. The calculators and checklists on this page stay usable without submitting anything.

    Step 1 of 2 — your bill

    No contact details on this step. Nothing is sent until you submit the second step.

    Submitting does not guarantee a quote, savings, program funding or eligibility.

    California Rate Relief is a referral service. We are not a licensed contractor. California Rate Relief is compensated by a solar provider when a homeowner we refer signs an agreement. How we make money

    Before you send anything

    What this is
    California Rate Relief is a private referral service. It is not a contractor, does not install or finance anything, and is not a utility, a government agency or an assistance program.
    What happens after the form
    Your project details are recorded for referral to a solar provider. The provider decides whether it can help and what it can offer; availability, design and price are determined after its own review.
    How you are contacted
    Read the consent wording before submitting. Your inquiry includes contact details for follow-up about the project; a provider decides whether it can serve it.
    Using the site without submitting
    The calculators, bill comparisons and checklists on this site work without contact details, and nothing on this page requires a submission.