Solar Panel Cost in Visalia, CA (2026): $2.94/W Reported
By Chad SimpsonUpdated 6 sources citedVisalia, Tulare County
Visalia homeowners who bought their own solar systems reported a median of $2.94 per watt between January 2025 and May 2026, across 288 systems. The middle half paid $2.35 to $3.79 per watt.
A 7.7 kW system, the median size connected in Visalia in 2025, comes to about $22,600 at that median, or $18,100 to $29,200 across the middle half.
Those are reported costs, not a quote, and no federal credit comes off a Visalia system finished in 2026: 26 U.S.C. §25D does not cover one whose installation is completed after December 31, 2025 (state and federal rules).
- Median reported cost
- $2.94/W
- Visalia addresses, 288 systems
- Middle half
- $2.35 to $3.79/W
- 25th to 75th percentile
- Typical 7.7 kW system
- $22,600
- 7.7 kW × $2.94/W, before any incentive
- Same system, middle half
- $18,100 to $29,200
- size: Visalia addresses, 2025 median
Source: California Distributed Generation Statistics (CPUC), Interconnected Project Sites data set, data through May 31, 2026, checked September 24, 2026. Homeowner-owned, solar-only systems of 1 to 25 kW; leases, PPAs and battery systems are left out (method). The CPUC notes these costs are not verified by the government.
California Rate Relief is a referral service. We are not a licensed contractor.
What a solar permit costs in Visalia
Visalia does not publish a dollar figure for a residential solar permit. Whatever it charges, Government Code §66015 limits a city to $450 for a home system up to 15 kW, plus $15 per kW above that, unless it adopts a written finding that its cost is higher. Fees are paid online by card before the permit auto-issues.
- What Visalia publishes: Visalia's SolarApp page says SolarAPP+ charges its own fee and that City permit fees are paid online, by Visa or MasterCard only, before the permit auto-issues; it does not state the amounts. The City's development fee book could not be read when checked.
- How to file: Yes. Licensed contractors take the design through SolarAPP+, then file a Residential Solar Permit with SolarApp in the City's Citizen Access portal, where the permit is auto-issued within seconds of payment. At inspection the contractor has to provide the project's single-line diagram and load calculations.
- Automated permit platform: SolarAPP+
Sources: City of Visalia, SolarApp, checked September 23, 2026; Gov. Code §66015, checked September 24, 2026. Visalia in the California Solar Cost Index sets this fee beside every other city's.
Solar in Visalia: installs, leases and batteries
Home solar systems connected at Visalia addresses: 1,590 in 2021, 2,865 in 2022, 2,447 in 2023, 1,557 in 2024 and 1,615 in 2025. So connections peaked in 2022 and 2025 ran 44% below that peak. Another 578 were connected from January to May 2026.
Of the 1,615 systems connected in Visalia in 2025, 64% were leased or on a PPA, so a solar company owns them, and 36% belonged to the homeowner. 81% had a battery, more often than the 55% statewide. The median Visalia system was 7.7 kW, and 120 companies connected at least one.
| Visalia | Tulare County | Statewide | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Systems connected in 2025 | 1,615 | 4,256 | 145,404 |
| Leased or on a PPA | 64% | 63% | 45% |
| With a battery | 81% | 75% | 55% |
| Median system size | 7.7 kW | 6.62 kW | 6.15 kW |
| Median reported cost | $2.94/W (288) | $3.03/W (960) | $4.14/W (58,628) |
| Companies connecting systems | 120 | 180 | 2,475 |
Source: CPUC DG Stats, data through May 31, 2026. Counts are home systems given permission to operate each year; a city means the service city on the application.
Your utility: SCE
Visalia is billed by Southern California Edison (SCE). SCE's average residential rate is 34.4¢/kWh (June 1, 2026; rate tracker).
Before you compare proposals
The Visalia project checks that change the decision
Visalia auto-issues SolarAPP+ permits within seconds of payment, but the City wants the load calculations at inspection, and those show whether the main panel can carry the new circuit.
Ask the same three questions
- Will the design pass SolarAPP+, and who files the Residential Solar Permit with SolarApp in the City's portal?
- Has the installer done the load calculations and single-line diagram the City wants at inspection, and do they show whether the main panel needs work?
- Does the savings estimate use SCE's generation and delivery rates from your own bill?
Local checks
Card-only, instant issue
Visalia takes permit fees online by Visa or MasterCard only, and the permit is auto-issued within a few seconds of payment. The City does not state the amount on its SolarApp page.
Paperwork at inspection
The City requires the project's single-line diagram and load calculations at the time of inspection. Ask for them with the quote, since they show whether the existing panel can take the new circuit.
SCE on both lines
SCE's list of community choice aggregators does not include Visalia, so a Visalia bill normally shows SCE for generation and delivery.
Related decisions
Local sources and limits
- City of Visalia — SolarApp — verified 2026-09-23. Licensed contractors use SolarAPP+, then a Residential Solar Permit with SolarApp in the City’s ACA portal; fees paid online by Visa or MasterCard only; permit auto-issued within seconds; single-line diagram and load calculations required at inspection.
- SCE — Community Choice Aggregation — verified 2026-09-23. Lists the CCAs in SCE territory and the cities each serves, and says SCE continues meter reading, billing, maintenance and outage response for CCA customers. A city missing from the list has no CCA named there.
Before you sign
In Visalia the middle half of reported costs spans $2.35 to $3.79 per watt, and roof, panel work, equipment and contract terms explain most of that gap. California Solar Tax and Permit Rules for 2026 covers them, and the tax, lease and disclosure rules a Visalia contract follows.
Frequently asked questions
How much does solar cost in Visalia?
About $22,600 for a 7.7 kW system, at the $2.94 per watt median that Visalia owners reported (288 systems, January 2025 to May 2026; middle half $2.35 to $3.79). Source: CPUC DG Stats. No federal credit applies to a Visalia system finished in 2026.
What does a solar permit cost in Visalia?
Visalia states no single current figure (no figure published, checked September 23, 2026); Gov. Code §66015 caps it at $450 up to 15 kW unless the city adopts a written finding.
Which utility serves Visalia?
Southern California Edison (SCE). Its average residential rate is 34.4¢/kWh, as of June 1, 2026.
Sources
- California Distributed Generation Statistics (CPUC), Interconnected Project Sites data set, data through May 31, 2026 — checked September 24, 2026
- CPUC, California Solar Consumer Protection Guide — checked September 24, 2026
- 26 U.S.C. §25D(h) and (e)(8)(A), residential clean energy credit — checked September 24, 2026
- Visalia solar permitting — City of Visalia, SolarApp — checked September 23, 2026
- California Government Code §66015(a), residential solar permit fees — checked September 24, 2026
- SCE average residential rate — CPUC Public Advocates Office, Q2 2026 Electric Rates Report, p.8, 22 — checked September 24, 2026
The tax, contract and permit rules every California city shares, with their statutes: California Solar Tax and Permit Rules for 2026.
Have your bill reviewed
Start with the utility on your bill and what you pay in a typical month. Contact details come after that. The calculators and checklists on this page stay usable without submitting anything.
California Rate Relief is a referral service. We are not a licensed contractor. California Rate Relief is compensated by a solar provider when a homeowner we refer signs an agreement. How we make money
Before you send anything
- What this is
- California Rate Relief is a private referral service. It is not a contractor, does not install or finance anything, and is not a utility, a government agency or an assistance program.
- What happens after the form
- Your project details are recorded for referral to a solar provider. The provider decides whether it can help and what it can offer; availability, design and price are determined after its own review.
- How you are contacted
- Read the consent wording before submitting. Your inquiry includes contact details for follow-up about the project; a provider decides whether it can serve it.
- Using the site without submitting
- The calculators, bill comparisons and checklists on this site work without contact details, and nothing on this page requires a submission.