Skip to main content

    Independent information and referral site. Not a utility, contractor or government agency. How we make money

    Solar Installer Review

    Palmetto Solar and LightReach Reviews (2026): BBB File, Court Record and Contract

    Last updated September 23, 2026 by Chad Simpson, Editor · Methodology
    10 min read

    LightReach reviews and Palmetto Solar reviews are about the same company. LightReach is Palmetto’s name for the partner network that sells its 25-year Palmetto Energy Plan, and the Better Business Bureau lists LightReach as an alternate name for Palmetto Solar. On September 23, 2026 that file showed 340 complaints in three years, most about service and repairs, and the BBB listed Palmetto as Not Rated.

    This page does not rate or rank installers. It sets out the BBB file, the federal court record, what Palmetto publishes about the Energy Plan and what happens when you sell the house, each dated to the day it was checked, and the contract terms to settle before signing.

    Key facts

    BBB complaints, last 3 years
    340
    195 closed in the last 12 months
    bbb.orgchecked Sep 23, 2026
    Largest complaint type
    148
    Service or repair issues
    bbb.orgchecked Sep 23, 2026
    Federal dockets naming Palmetto Solar
    9
    Two in California; none a bankruptcy
    courtlistener.comchecked Sep 23, 2026
    Energy Plan escalator
    0%–3.5%
    Per year, set in your agreement
    help.palmetto.comchecked Sep 22, 2026

    Start with your bill

    Two answers, no contact details. They carry into the full form, and nothing is sent until you finish it.

    Or tap a typical amount

    California Rate Relief is a referral service. We are not a licensed contractor. California Rate Relief is compensated by a solar provider when a homeowner we refer signs an agreement. How we make money

    LightReach reviews: what the BBB file shows

    The BBB profile for Palmetto Solar in Charlotte, North Carolina lists Palmetto Solar, LLC and LightReach as alternate names, shows a business start date of October 12, 2015, and was “Not Rated” on September 23, 2026 because the business was responding to previously closed complaints. It is not BBB accredited. bbb.orgchecked Sep 23, 2026

    The complaint page counted 340 complaints in three years and 195 closed in the last 12 months. By type: 148 service or repair issues, 70 order issues, 53 sales and advertising issues, 24 billing issues, 23 customer service issues and 19 product issues. bbb.orgchecked Sep 23, 2026 The recent complaints describe systems left offline with service fees the owner did not expect, slow warranty repairs, trouble transferring an agreement during a home sale, disputes over buyout valuations, and electric bills higher than before the installation. A BBB complaint is one customer’s account and the company’s reply, not a finding, and the count is not adjusted for how many customers Palmetto has.

    Two things follow for a reader weighing a LightReach offer. Service is the biggest category, so ask who answers a service call after activation and how quickly a visit is scheduled in your area. And several complaints arise at the point of sale of the house, so read the transfer terms below before you sign, not when you list the home.

    Who sells and installs a LightReach system

    Palmetto’s business page describes LightReach as “a premiere partner network offering the Palmetto Energy Plan” and invites solar installers and dealers to join as partners. palmetto.comchecked Sep 23, 2026 Its homeowner page says Palmetto owns the system and handles design, permits, installation, equipment and maintenance. palmetto.comchecked Sep 23, 2026 In practice that means the company that knocked on your door or called you may be a partner, not Palmetto. Get the name and California license number of the company that will install your system, check it at CSLB, and search reviews under that name too. Neither Palmetto page names a panel, inverter or battery brand, so the proposal has to.

    What the court record shows (checked September 23, 2026)

    A party-name search of federal dockets returned nine naming Palmetto Solar. courtlistener.comchecked Sep 23, 2026 None is a bankruptcy case filed by the company. The most recent and the California ones are:

    A filed complaint is an allegation, not a finding, and a termination date records that a case closed, not who prevailed. The subjects that recur, consumer credit and marketing contact, are the two to press hardest on before signing a financed, company-owned agreement. This search covers federal courts only, not California state courts, arbitration, or license discipline against the partner who would install your system.

    Questions the complaint file says to ask

    • Service after activation. Which company handles a service call, how is a visit requested, and is any service fee possible under the Energy Plan?
    • Timeline to Permission to Operate. Ask for a written schedule for design, permitting, installation, inspection and utility approval, and what happens if a stage slips.
    • Production against the estimate. Ask for the production estimate and its assumptions, and how the 90% guarantee is measured and paid.
    • The agreement as its own document. The Energy Plan is separate from any installation paperwork a partner gives you. Read the escalator, term and transfer clauses in both.
    • Roof penetrations. Get the installing company’s license number and its leak-response commitment in writing.

    What is Palmetto’s LightReach program, in Palmetto’s own words?

    Palmetto’s LightReach page presents it as an “Energy Plan” rather than as a lease or a power purchase agreement. In its own words: “we own the system and you get the power.” It describes a 25-year commitment with no upfront cost and with maintenance and performance guarantees included, and it does not state the annual escalator. palmetto.comchecked Sep 23, 2026

    Read that first sentence closely: “we own the system” means you do not own the panels on your roof. Whatever the product is called, company ownership has four consequences to price in. The owner, not you, claims any tax credit. The agreement has to be transferred or settled when you sell, and a buyer must be willing to take it on. Responsibility for a roof leak under the array sits with whoever the contract says. And the payment continues for the full term. Compare the whole structure against buying outright in cash, loan, lease and PPA obligations side by side and see how an escalator compounds over 25 years.

    The product has two names: LightReach and the Palmetto Energy Plan

    Palmetto calls its consumer agreement the Palmetto Energy Plan: a 25-year agreement, structured as either a lease (a fixed monthly payment) or a PPA (a rate per kWh produced), depending on what your state allows. palmetto.comchecked Sep 22, 2026 “LightReach” is the partner network that sells it. If a contractor offered you a LightReach agreement, you were offered the Palmetto Energy Plan.

    The plan’s Annual Rate Escalator, its built-in yearly price increase, runs from 0% to 3.5% and is set in your agreement. help.palmetto.comchecked Sep 22, 2026 Every plan also bundles 25 years of service and a 90% Performance and Production Guarantee. If the system produces less than 90% of its estimate over a review period, checked every 36 months from your first payment, Palmetto says it pays the shortfall to your bank account within 30 days at your contracted rate, with no claim to file, and that the guarantee applies only to Energy Plan customers, not to a system you bought. help.palmetto.comchecked Sep 22, 2026 Palmetto markets this protection as Palmetto Protect, which it says also covers parts, labor, remote issue detection and a service network. palmetto.comchecked Sep 22, 2026

    What happens to your Palmetto Energy Plan when you sell your home

    Selling before the 25-year term is up gives you three options, per Palmetto’s support documentation: help.palmetto.comchecked Sep 22, 2026

    1. Transfer the agreement to the buyer. The buyer applies for their own Energy Plan and must pass Palmetto’s credit and underwriting check. Once approved and the sale closes, the plan and any remaining warranty move to their name.
    2. Prepay the remaining balance. You pay off what is left up front; Palmetto keeps ownership and stays responsible for maintenance.
    3. Buy the system at fair market value. Only once the agreement has run at least five years. You own it, and Palmetto’s maintenance coverage ends.

    Palmetto says you remain responsible for the agreement until a written transfer is signed, and closing a sale without one is treated as a default. Its own articles also disagree on notice: the sale article says to submit a request at least 60 days before closing, while an article on canceling or transferring cites 15 days’ prior written notice. help.palmetto.comchecked Sep 22, 2026 Ask Palmetto for the deadline on your file, in writing. Several recent BBB complaints concern exactly this step.

    Questions to ask before you rely on any of this:

    • Has the buyer been pre-qualified with Palmetto, in writing, before you are past the point of no return in escrow?
    • Which notice deadline applies to your file, 60 days or 15, and is a written transfer signed before closing?
    • If you prepay or buy out instead, what is the payoff or fair-market-value figure, and is it in your asking price?
    • Has the agreement run at least five years, if the buyout is the path you want?

    Palmetto’s California contractor license

    Palmetto’s license page lists California license #1048921, classified as an Electrical Contractor. palmetto.comchecked Sep 22, 2026 On CSLB’s license lookup (checked September 24, 2026), #1048921 belongs to Palmetto Solar LLC dba LightReach and is current and active, and the record notes a pending disciplinary action in the form of an accusation, plus complaint disclosures. The partner company that installs your system holds its own license. Check both before signing; our contractor-verification walkthrough shows how.

    Where this leaves a California homeowner

    The fit question is ownership. A company-owned Energy Plan removes the upfront cost and the need for tax liability, and in exchange you do not own the equipment and you carry a 25-year payment with transfer terms at sale. Verify in this order: the escalator, term and end-of-term options, in writing; the home-sale transfer clause; the name and license of the company that will install; the panel, inverter and battery models; and who answers for a roof leak. Then get at least one quote for buying a comparable system, so you can see what company ownership costs over the term. For another company that sells mainly this kind of agreement, see the Sunrun review.

    Frequently asked questions

    What are LightReach reviews like?

    LightReach is Palmetto’s name for the partner network that sells its Palmetto Energy Plan, and the BBB files it under Palmetto Solar. On September 23, 2026 that file showed 340 complaints in three years and 195 closed in the last 12 months, with service or repair the largest category at 148. The BBB listed Palmetto as Not Rated while it responds to previously closed complaints. Read the newest complaints for your region, not just the count.

    Is Palmetto Solar legit?

    It is a real, operating company: the BBB shows it in business since October 12, 2015, and Palmetto publishes a California license, #1048921, for an Electrical Contractor. Being real is not the same as being a good fit. Check that license and the license of the partner installer on your contract at CSLB, and read the Energy Plan’s escalator, term and transfer clauses before you sign.

    Is Palmetto Solar going out of business?

    Nothing in the public record we checked says so. Its BBB profile is active, and none of the nine federal dockets naming Palmetto Solar on September 23, 2026 is a bankruptcy case filed by the company. A company’s finances can change quickly, so check the federal court record yourself if you are about to sign a 25-year agreement.

    What is the LightReach Energy Plan?

    A 25-year agreement in which Palmetto owns the system and you pay for the power or the equipment, structured as a lease or a power purchase agreement depending on your state. Palmetto’s help center says the annual rate escalator runs from 0% to 3.5% and is set in your agreement, and that every plan includes 25 years of service and a 90% production guarantee.

    How does Palmetto Solar compare with Sunrun?

    Both mainly sell agreements in which the company owns the system, so compare the contracts rather than the brands: the escalator, the term, the end-of-term options and what happens when you sell. Also compare who does the installation, since Palmetto sells through LightReach partner companies. Our Sunrun review covers Sunrun’s side.

    What happens to my Palmetto plan if I sell my house?

    You can transfer it to the buyer, who must pass Palmetto’s credit check; prepay the remaining balance; or buy the system at fair market value once the agreement has run at least five years. Palmetto’s own articles give two different notice periods, 60 days and 15 days, so get the deadline for your file in writing.

    What CSLB license number does Palmetto use in California?

    Palmetto’s license page lists #1048921, an Electrical Contractor license. On CSLB’s lookup on September 24, 2026, it belonged to Palmetto Solar LLC dba LightReach and was current and active, with a pending disciplinary action (an accusation) noted on the record. Check it yourself, and check the separate license of the partner company that will install your system.

    Sources

    Company facts, complaint counts and court records change. Each figure above traces to one of these, checked on the date shown.

    1. Better Business Bureau — Palmetto Solar (Charlotte, NC) profile bbb.orgchecked Sep 23, 2026 — Alternate names Palmetto Solar, LLC and LightReach; Not Rated while responding to previously closed complaints; not accredited; business started October 12, 2015
    2. Better Business Bureau — Palmetto Solar complaints bbb.orgchecked Sep 23, 2026 — 340 complaints in three years; 195 closed in 12 months; 148 service or repair, 70 order, 53 sales and advertising, 24 billing, 23 customer service, 19 product; recent complaint themes
    3. CourtListener — federal dockets, party name “Palmetto Solar” courtlistener.comchecked Sep 23, 2026 — Nine dockets; none is a bankruptcy case filed by Palmetto
    4. CourtListener — Weisent v. Palmetto Solar LLC dba Lightreach, W.D. Tex. No. 4:26-cv-00070 courtlistener.comchecked Sep 23, 2026 — Filed September 18, 2026; names Palmetto Solar LLC doing business as LightReach
    5. CourtListener — Edmonds v. Palmetto Solar, LLC, E.D. Cal. No. 1:25-cv-00703 courtlistener.comchecked Sep 23, 2026 — Filed June 10, 2025; nature of suit Consumer Credit; open
    6. CourtListener — Ewing v. Palmetto Solar, LLC, S.D. Cal. No. 3:23-cv-01292 courtlistener.comchecked Sep 23, 2026 — Filed July 14, 2023; terminated December 13, 2023
    7. CourtListener — Strickland v. Palmetto Solar, LLC, M.D.N.C. No. 1:22-cv-00580 courtlistener.comchecked Sep 23, 2026 — Filed July 22, 2022; terminated February 21, 2023
    8. Palmetto — LightReach (homeowner page) palmetto.comchecked Sep 23, 2026 — “We own the system and you get the power”; 25 years; no upfront cost; maintenance and performance guarantees; no escalator stated
    9. Palmetto — LightReach for business palmetto.comchecked Sep 23, 2026 — LightReach is “a premiere partner network offering the Palmetto Energy Plan”; installers and dealers join as partners; 25-year agreement with the homeowner
    10. Palmetto — homepage palmetto.comchecked Sep 22, 2026 — Palmetto Energy Plan structured as a lease or PPA depending on the state
    11. Palmetto Help Center — Palmetto Energy Plan FAQs help.palmetto.comchecked Sep 22, 2026 — Annual Rate Escalator 0% to 3.5%; 25 years of service; 90% Performance and Production Guarantee
    12. Palmetto Help Center — Understanding your performance guarantee help.palmetto.comchecked Sep 22, 2026 — Reviewed every 36 months; shortfall paid within 30 days; Energy Plan customers only
    13. Palmetto — Palmetto Protect palmetto.comchecked Sep 22, 2026 — Parts, labor, remote issue detection and service network
    14. Palmetto Help Center — Selling your home help.palmetto.comchecked Sep 22, 2026 — Transfer, prepay or fair-market-value buyout after five years; 60-day notice; responsibility until written transfer
    15. Palmetto Help Center — How to cancel or transfer your solar lease agreement help.palmetto.comchecked Sep 22, 2026 — 15-day prior written notice
    16. Palmetto — State contractor license information palmetto.comchecked Sep 22, 2026 — California license #1048921, Electrical Contractor
    What this page does not state: no star rating. Ratings on review sites change weekly and cannot tell you which partner company will install your system. The complaint counts and court records above are dated; check them again before you sign.

    Compare Quotes Before You Sign

    California Rate Relief is a private referral service. Submit one short form and it may forward your inquiry to independent California providers, subject to availability, so you can compare pricing, equipment and warranty terms side by side. No installer is named as a partner and no provider is endorsed.

    California Rate Relief is compensated by a solar provider when a homeowner we refer signs an agreement.

    Ask for a competing quote

    Start with the utility on your bill and what you pay in a typical month. Contact details come after that. Submitting does not guarantee that a provider will quote your project.

    Step 1 of 2 — your bill

    No contact details on this step. Nothing is sent until you submit the second step.

    Submitting does not guarantee a quote, savings, program funding or eligibility.

    California Rate Relief is a referral service. We are not a licensed contractor. California Rate Relief is compensated by a solar provider when a homeowner we refer signs an agreement. How we make money

    Before you send anything

    What this is
    California Rate Relief is a private referral service. It is not a contractor, does not install or finance anything, and is not a utility, a government agency or an assistance program.
    What happens after the form
    Your project details are recorded for referral to a solar provider. The provider decides whether it can help and what it can offer; availability, design and price are determined after its own review.
    How you are contacted
    Read the consent wording before submitting. Your inquiry includes contact details for follow-up about the project; a provider decides whether it can serve it.
    Using the site without submitting
    The calculators, bill comparisons and checklists on this site work without contact details, and nothing on this page requires a submission.

    Before comparing any installer proposal

    Which agreement you are being offered matters more than which company offers it.